MY TRAVELS, TRIALS AND TRAVAILS

“Sir,I didn’t do it” I sobbed.
.
“My friend,shut up!” A tall man in uniform shouted at me.
.
“You have the right to remain silent,because anything you say will/would be use against you before the court of law”. A masculine voice I couldn’t figure out said.
.
I wished I was brought before the court of law!
.
I wished they could allow me express myself!
.
I wished someone cared to listen!
.
The only thing I had to say was “I didn’t do it”,but no one cares to listen,I was sentenced to life imprisonment.
.
Where are my relatives?
.
I can’t find any!
****
Mother died some years back,though I was very young but I missed her.
.
Father loved Mother dearly when she was alive,he transferred the love he had for her to me.
.
“Convey my regards to them”. That was the last word I heard him say.
.
“I will,Father” I hugged him tightly and left.
.
He sent me to the neighbourhood state that day with some food items for my brothers in school.
.
I was so happy to see them but the look on their face depicted something suspicious.
.
“It is me” I sobbed as I talked.
.
“Ehn,ehn” My immediate elder brother looked at me disdainfully.
.
“We know!”
.
Before I knew it,I was stripped out of my cloth and thrown into the pit the dug at the back of their hostel.
.
I started seeking for forgiveness for the sins I committed and the ones I did not because,I thought I would die.
.
I heard footsteps coming towards the pit,they came to drew me out.
.
I saw them with some men.
The men took my hands and started taking me away.
.
So it is true? Siblings now sell one another.
.
Could it be the economic recession?
.
I looked around,I couldn’t find Reuben.
.
“Somebody help” I cried aloud.
.
“Go to hell! Go and perish!” Dan said,poking my nose.
.
I screamed for help,nobody came to my rescue. I couldn’t sight any nearest police station and I forgot to take my phone with me.
.
The place fell to the extreme end of the town…
.
…and that was the last time I saw them.
.
The car zoomed off and we got to another state.
.
“I’m doomed” I said,shivering like a fever patient.
.
“Shut up” One of the kidnappers,covering his face with a mask roared.
.
The shouts rang vehemently in my ears.
.
When we got to a place,they brought me down the car and I entered another car.
.
By a strange twist of fate,I found myself in Chief Pee’s house,a gentle and easy-going man whose wife brought about my imprisonment.
.
He agreed to take me as his maid and he settled those miscreant.
.
He owned a very big and notable company in the country.
.
When he saw the harbinger of faithfulness in me,he made me his permanent secretary.
.
Pee’s wife rephrased the story,she spoilt everything.
.
Everything she said,laying allegations against me was a lie…
.
…But who cares to listen!
.
“Through it all,I’ve learnt to trust in God” I sang as I came back from my reminiscence.
.
“Morning” a prison-mate greeted me.
.
“Morning to you” I answered,tottering to feet as I stood up.
.
I entered the room adjacent to where I was. I met two prison-mate there,but they were sad.
.
“Why are you looking so sad,today?” I asked them.
.
They felt reluctant at first but Butler took the lead.
.
“We saw something that has a deep meaning but we can’t solve it” Butler said.
.
“Can you share it with me?” I answered him.
.
I won’t say I’m a soothsayer,but God reveals some crucial things to me at times.
.
He told me and I solved it.
.
He grinned and said.”Wow! Oh Boy,you are awesome o”
.
Baker’s face dazzled with smiles.
.
He was quite impressed and couldn’t resist telling me his.
.
***On The Third Day***
Butler left the prison for good but Baker left for the opposite.
.
Baker was hanged and Butler was set free.
.
It was the Governor’s birthday,he paid a visit to the prison and released some prisoners.
.
Fortunately,Butler was one of them.
.
Butler looked at me and couldn’t blinked back his tears.
.
“Thank you for being the best prison-mate ever” He said,patting my back gently.
.
Tears rolled down and fell on my cheek. I grabbed hold of his hands and clasped it tightly.
.
I still didn’t know what pushed me to say “But think of me when it shall be well with thee”
.
I sobbed quietly.
.
***TWO FULL YEARS***
I heard Butler’s achievement,his boss who charged him to court received him warmly.
.
He was paid consolation prices by the government.
.
I was so happy for him!
.
The Warder came in one day and grabbed me hastily.
.
I needed no one to tell me what it was. It was my turn!
.
The ball has always rolled pass me,but it stayed in my front that day.
.
My bloods stuck at that junction.
.
He brought me and threw me to the back of the prisoner’s van.
.
I bowed my head in shame as the driver drove passed the street.
.
I looked around and saw a big billboard. Boldly on it was “THE STATE SECRETARIAT”
.
I looked at the Warder beside me and asked “Why are we here?”
.
“The Governor sent for you”.
.
“What for?” I asked again.
.
“You can ask him that when you meet him in person.”
.
They brought me before the State Governor.
.
“Your Excellency,Sir.” I genuflected!
.
He cleared his throat,then said “Butler said you are a good analyst”
.
He fixed his gaze on me but I looked down because it’s a sin to stare at any great personality when they speaks.
.
He changed his gaze swiftly and turned to face his permanent secretary. “Get those files”
.
He ushered me to sit and gave me those files.
.
I did my best and gave it to him.
He nodded as he scrutinized it!
.
“Which of the universities did you graduated from?” He asked.
.
I was about to answer him when Butler came in.
.
“Your Excellency,Sir.” He shook hands with him.
.
“I’m just a School Certificate Holder”. Butler nodded in agreement.
.
His eyeballs almost jumped out of his socket.
.
“Wow! Big brain,small achievement” He said.
.
“By the power confided in me,I hereby set you free”
.
I had to tug my ear because I couldn’t believe what I heard.
.
“It’s quite amazing that your brain surpass all,I hereby declare you as the new Minister of Commerce” He announced.
.
I couldn’t deduce what was happening.
.
Was he on spell?
.
“I’m I dreaming” I thought.
.
Songs of joy filled my mouth,screams of joys electrified the atmosphere,standing ovation went on hold for me.
.
We had a dinner that night.
.
***AFTER SEVEN YEARS***
“Honey,some men are here to see you.” Asenath came to deliver.
.
I came out and met them waiting for me in the balcony.
.
They bowed down,facing the earth surface.
.
“Bro…” I was about calling their names when something shut my mouth.
.
These are my brothers!
.
I can’t mistake them for another person. I knew them but they didn’t,it made me wondered if that was how people forget things easily.
.
I composed myself and made myself a stranger to them.
“Welcome ooo” I greeted.
.
“What would you like me do for you?” I asked.
.
“We are here to buy foodstuffs all the way from the neighbouring state”
.
“Are you sure?”
.
“Yes” They chorused.
.
I didn’t ask them question before they started telling where they originated from.
.
“We are twelve in numbers sir,one died some years back and the youngest of all is with our father” They said.
.
I looked and I couldn’t find Ben.
.
“Send one of you,and fetch your brother,but I will keep you so as to prove this words”
.
They didn’t disagree.
They were kept inside the ward that night.
.
I was unable to attend to them due to urgent meetings and conferences here and there.
On the third day,they brought them before me.
.
They started conversing with one to another,”It is our sins that has brought this distress to us”
.
I watched them keenly. They didn’t know I understand their language.
.
“I told you guys,you won’t just listen” Reuben answered them.
.
Then I said to them “Go and bring your brother,but one of you will wait behind”
.
I took one of them down.
.
How could they forget my face easily?
.
****
They came along with my Mother’s son,Ben. My Father had four wives.
.
I thought Ben would recognise but he too could not.
I was so elated that my joy had no bounds,I brought out Simeon to them.
.
I ordered my chef to prepare dinner
.
“We’re going to eat dinner together” I told them.
.
Benjamin was the only who smiled.
.
We wined and dined together,but Benjamin’s food was five times so much as any of them.
.
When they were about to leave,I told my P.A to put my a silver bronze cup in the sack’s mouth of my younger brother.
.
I wanted to test their fate.
.
As soon as the morning was light,they made their way home.
.
My men ran after them and overtook them,they brought them back.
.
I didn’t know what they discussed on their way but when they arrived,my carbon copy(we looked so familiar) fell to the ground before me.
.
“Please,forgive us. Our Father must not die,we must not bring down his gray hairs with sorrow to the grave” Judah rolled on the floor.
.
“You all can go back except Ben”
.
He continued “He didn’t allow to bring our brother,it was after much pestering,that was when he agreed. I will surrender my life to replace Ben”
.
I could not refrain myself before them.
.
“Cause no man to go out from me” I cried!
.
Every one went out from the office immediately.
.
Tears dropped on my cheek,I couldn’t go inside to sob.
.
“I am Joseph” I revealed myself.
.
PS: This story is not fictional. Genesis chapter 37,38,39,40,41,42,43,44 and 45 expatiated it more
.
Dedicated to all the Joseph out there.

Leave a Reply

