What’s your Passion?

Schools resumed on Monday, but my neighbour’s children didn’t go since then (reasons I don’t know).
.
Since I was indoor throughout yesterday,they came to have a play with me and they came along with a neighbour’s daughter.
.
You know how kids could be at times,they disturbed the atmosphere with their noise.
.
Since there was no light,I had to let them into the bedroom and we played together(even though I go tired instantly).
.
I wanted something that could keep them busy,so I gave them sheets to write on.
.
Nothing specific,just to keep them busy.
.
The neighbour’s daughter they came along with,a year and few months old,gripped the pencil with passion.
.
Even when others had stopped writing,she was still writing.
Though she penned jargon,but she was so serious and focused.
.
When she realised there was no space to pen on again,she picked one of my textbooks[FAMZ] and started writing on it.
.
I nearly screamed at her!
Heheheheh…Ere kere(Foul play). My precious textbook!
.
I gave her another sheet to write on. She utilised it quickly,I gave her another one and she grinned widely.
.
The other kids had stopped writing and I could sense boredom evolving,so we diverted into dancing.
.
The other kids enjoyed the ballroom I created but she didn’t.
I observed her closely that she didn’t danced as I had expected.
.
The little she danced was at the expense of her passion.
.
When she couldn’t hide her feelings,she made for the exit,but I retained her presence ingeniously.
.
I gave her another sheet to write on. She grasped the pen tightly like a writer.
.
She used it finished and I didn’t give her another sheet,she started making a whimpering sound.
.
The kids started chattering but she traipsed into the chattering. She was just playing with the rough sheets.
.
We chattered away happily for a while and I looked back to check on her.
She was fast asleep!
.
Then it occurred to me that writing is her passion.
Anything else is gibberish.
She knew I didn’t like the fact that she wasn’t responding but she couldn’t force herself.
.
Not like you!
Yes! You!
You’ve been living your life to please everybody just because you don’t want them to go mad at you.
I implore you to stop.
.
Don’t allow anyone force you into something you don’t like or won’t like.
.
Don’t allow anyone enslave you.
If you’re not comfortable with anything,kindly walk away.
.
Don’t expect anyone will do this for you.
.
It’s a free world!
Speak for yourself!
Decide yourself!
Discover yourself!
Have a say for yourself!
Stand for yourself!
Life is to be enjoyed not endured.
.
Akosile Adeola Balikis,your daughter triggered my musings.

Leave a comment